Attack, Enemy, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus Christ, Uncategorized

Be the first to attack the enemy

So Joshua and all the people of war with him came against them suddenly by the waters of Merom, and they attacked them.

Joshua 11:7  

In this story, Joshua and the people of war did not warn their enemies before attacking them. There are lessons from this that we as believers in Jesus Christ can apply to our lives when it concerns spiritual warfare:

  1. Don’t wait for the enemy to attack

When Joshua heard that all the kings of the surrounding cities had gathered together to fight against Israel, they did not wait for their enemies to attack. Instead, he and the people of war attacked their enemies suddenly.

Likewise we do not have to sit and wait for satan to attack us. Remember that we are in a spiritual war therefore we must stay alert and watch out, for our great enemy, the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour (1 Peter 5:8).

  1. Be the first to attack

We don’t have to wait for the devil to attack, in fact from this story we can be the first to attack. The way we can attack the enemy is through God’s Word. The Word is called the sword of the Spirit because it is an offensive weapon that we can use to tear down anything that comes against us (Ephesians 6:17).

  1. Don’t go into the battle alone

Joshua did not go into the battle alone, he took the people of war with him. When the enemy comes in against your life, health, children, finances, career, business, ministry etc. please know that you cannot defeat him on your own. You will need the power of the Holy Spirit to destroy every plan of the enemy:

When the enemy shall come in like a flood, the Spirit of the Lord shall lift up a standard against him.

Isaiah 59:19

The Holy Spirit may also lead you to intercessors who can help to pray you through the problem (James 5:16). I remember when I was going through my most intense spiritual warfare, the Holy Spirit led me to a Church sister who faithfully prayed with me from 5-8am every day for about a period of 6 months which gave me the spiritual strength I needed to stay sane. God knows exactly want you need and when you rely on Him He will lead you to victory through Jesus Christ our Lord (1 Corinthians 15:57).

Prayer

Dear Lord, I thank You that the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds. Help me to use the sword of the Spirit to pull down every stronghold affecting my mind, my health, my finances, my marriage, my children, business, ministry and career in Jesus name, amen. 

How to Discover Your Life’s Purpose Through Dreams

Do you know God’s purpose for your life? If not, please subscribe to my YouTube channel and listen to the audio version of: How to Discover Your Life’s Purpose Through Dreams

God bless,

Blessing

 

 

Standard

Leave a comment